Posted in Uncategorized

Strawberries and cream?

Good morning one and all

After the huge success of our Frou Frou launch, I had a me day Yesterday, a very lazy do nothing but please myself day, lie in, breakfast and a day full of sewing – Bliss

I used another precious piece of my Cath Kidston fabric that my gorgeous son bought for my Birthday…… I say another piece but I can’t actually remember if I have shown you my first creation yet! So let’s start at the beginning, it is after all, a very good place to start!

Last week, just before I headed down to Peterborough for the eBosser potd and launch our brand new embossalicious folders I decided I “needed” a new make-up bag, so I rifled in my rapidly expanding stash of fabric, and decided the occasion was mighty enough to warrant cutting in to not one out but two pieces of my special Cath Kidston fabric!

I watched Debbie Shores you tube on making a bag with a zip, and set off on my make-up bag journey, this is what I ended up with…….

20130401-102400.jpg

I love it….. I was so proud, my zip is perfect, the lining, (which I was very extravagant with) is also Cath Kidston, I used my previous knowledge of boxing a base and deviated from Debbie’s pattern slightly, added a light wadding for structure, then raided my embellishment stash and found perfect lace an ribbon to finish it off, this is a make-up bag I am not afraid to get out in public!

20130401-102959.jpg

So while all this was happening Ms Shore uploaded another you tube to make a bag with an edge to edge zip and handles! In my new proud inserting a zip moment, I accepted the challenge! And even decided on cutting into more precious Cath Kidston fabric! This is what I spent yesterday making and I love it so much, I now have a big toiletries bag to go with my make-up bag 🙂

20130401-103430.jpg

This was more technical and a bit more of a challenge, it’s by no means perfect, and I’ve learned some valuable lessons for the next time I make one (which may be today!) but it’s my first attempt and so I am going to use it with pride 🙂

20130401-104000.jpg

20130401-103850.jpg

So I am off to see what else I can make with probably one of the best birthday presents I have ever had, my Cath Kidston fabric bundle 🙂

Have a wonderful Easter Monday whatever you are doing 🙂

Lx

Ps – you may be wondering why strawberries and cream for the title? Well the strawberry fabric if the larger bag got me thinking, about strawberries and cream mmmmmmMMMMMMMMMMMMM

Author:

Creative Development Manager in the Craft Industry, I get to make my passion my job now ...... how cool is that :)

19 thoughts on “Strawberries and cream?

  1. How lovely are those. Makes me think about delving into the loft to find the sewing machine. I am a paper and card person not a fabric and yarn one . xx

  2. Well done Leann on your lovely bags, am so impressed with them am tempted to have a try at the less difficult one myself. Hope you had a lovely Easter and thank you for sharing them with us all.

  3. What a lovely bag and you were indeed very brave using that beautiful fabric! I am just going to watch Debbie’s videos and maybe have a go myself. I have just had an email to say my Frou Frou discs are on the way.
    Hugs from Chris

  4. I am so impressed you put me to shame! I am going to make myself a bag for my cricut machine I have got to get cracking and stop saying I am going too. Well done Leann x

  5. These are brilliant – well done – they look very professional and you should be so proud of yourself 🙂

  6. Love it. Clever you. Can you check your blog on 25th Feb. I left my address and a comment. Clever you. Catarinaxx

Leave a Reply

