Posted in Uncategorized

Feeling blue

Afternoon all

My nephew Ryan had his first birthday this weekend and we had great fun spending time with him. I made his birthday card using our brand new party paws cd, as I thought little bamboo would be perfect ! However I had a dilemma! The image of bamboo sitting on the cupcake was perfect but the cupcake wrapper was pink! I wanted blue for Ryan……..

20130324-161129.jpg

So I simply printed the image onto Neenah card and coloured over the pink wrapper with my Spectrum Noir pens, I used IB1, IB2, IB3 and BT7

20130324-161613.jpg

20130324-161718.jpg

…… You would never know it started out pink would you? I may be using this technique of altering CD toppers with my pens more in the future I love the result!

I’d love to know why you think too 🙂

Lx

Author:

Creative Development Manager in the Craft Industry, I get to make my passion my job now ...... how cool is that :)

23 thoughts on “Feeling blue

  1. What a great discovery I will have to try it out. I love Bamboo and I have the CDs. Lovely images for lots of occasions
    X Chris Kelly

  2. Wouldn’t have known it started out pink if you hadn’t mentioned it… Good work .. will have to try myself x

  3. Hi Leann
    I think it is great, I have found this in the past with some toppers its the wrong colour for what I need so this is a great way to change them, thanks for the tip.
    Tina x 🙂

  4. Wow Leann this looks fabulous, what a gorgeous card, hasn’t that year gone quickly 1 already, sounds like you had a great time.
    Hugs Julie xx

  5. Thats what I done with the popcorn the bear cd rom. I needed a christening card for a baby boy but the image with the font had pink years on the bear and a pink heart on the blanket so I printed it out in black and white and then coloured it in with my alcohol markers and hey ho.. problem solved…

  6. What a brilliant idea…there have been so many times when I wanted to change the colours of the toppers but never thought of doing it this way. I will have to give this one a go!

    Thanks for the tip.

    Sharon x

  7. Good idea. I did the same with the image of Bamboo sitting on a branch with flowers – the flowers needed to be a bit brighter, so I coloured them in a deeper pink.

Leave a Reply

