Posted in Uncategorized

One layer Christmas Cards

So you are like me, are you are always hurrying around, and have you left your Christmas Cards to the very last minute!

Fear not, here I will show you how to make a simple one layer Christmas Card, Super Quick, so you can make them in batches, and rattle through them in no time at all.

You will need:

• Card base cut to 4 1/8 wide by 7 inches long, this needs to be your colouring card, I’ve used Neenah
• Embossing folder for top of card (I have used an old bauble one I’ve had in my stash for a very long time….
• Strawberry Kisses Mistletoe Mwah Stamp
• Spectrum Noir
• Dries clear glue and all purpose glue
• Crystal Glitter
• Optional – a lining for your card, depends on how much of a rush you are actually in!

Step 1 – Emboss your chosen design at the top of the card blank

20121210-194333.jpg

Step 2 – stamp your chosen image at the base of the card under the embossed design (I have used London Fog memento as I didn’t want a harsh black line, as the majority of the card will be white)

20121210-194942.jpg

Step 3 – colour Snow I have used for Snow: Blender, IG1, IG4, IG6 and IG8 for the darkest shade to add definition behind her ear under her ribbon and on her chin. PP5 and FS8 for cheeks and ears, i want her really blushing having a cheeky kiss under the mistletoe I think it’s cute. Gb5 ct2 ct1 for ribbon

Colour Pup – I have used: Blender, TN1, TN2, TN4 and TN7 for the drk shade as for snow above. DR7 CR10 and DR2 for the collar, GB5 and CT2 for the tag. Colour the Mistletoe – I have used: DG2 and DG4 for the ribbon BT7 and IB3

20121210-195126.jpg

Step 4 – Outline Snow and Pup to make them pop from the base card – trace around with BT1. I have then grounded Snow and Pup using BT4, BT2 and BT1, because I want to maintain a frosty feel to the card, and it will get glittered soon.

Step 5 – Make the baubles pop – Outline your embossed design on the left side only this will give your embossed deign more of a pop from the card base.

20121210-195649.jpg

Step 6 – add a thin layer in small amounts of dries clear glue to the baubles, i use an old pant brush for this, then add crystal glitter to really make the baubles sparkle. Also add highlights of glue to the ground below snow and pup and again add glitter for a really Christmassy sparkle.

20121210-195810.jpg

Step 7 – the inside – Because you have coloured directly onto the front of the card, the coloured ink will have bled through to the back, if you are ok with that, great, but if like me it makes you twitch a bit, then cover it up, I have simply embossed two more white panels with the same folder as the front and I’ve glued these inside.

20121210-195914.jpg

20121210-195940.jpg

So there we go quick and fuss free and because I’ve used the best glue in the world, collall all purpose, to line the card it has a lovely strong rigidity which makes it feel quite expensive and luxurious even though there is no matting and layering

Lxx

20121210-194124.jpg

Share your one layer creations I’m really quite liking them 🙂

Lxx

Author:

Creative Development Manager in the Craft Industry, I get to make my passion my job now ...... how cool is that :)

4 thoughts on “One layer Christmas Cards

Leave a Reply

