Posted in Uncategorized

Mistletoe MWAH! and some Cuteness…….

Good Morning all

I am up at the crack of dawn photographing two cards I made last night, my head is full of ideas with these new stamps and I wanted to share.

The first one is Pup with his reindeer antlers on and the sentiment on this stamps says’ it all “cuteness”…..

I’ve used some scrapbook papers Sara brought back for me from CHA as I think the lovely brown and orange autumn tones go really well with this image and if you look closely you will see a small strip of Jillian Dot Core’dination pad which is my new favourite.  I have also used two small pieces of much-loved velvet ribbon to add a little touch of luxury.

I’ve coloured Pup with my Spectrum Noir Pens  TN1, TN2, TN3, TN7 and TN8 – for the antlers I used TN2, TN7 and TN8 – his collar is CT1, CT4 and OR1 and the little tag is PP5 and DR3, he is outlined in IG1 and the ground is BGR1 and BGR3.

Over the last few years I can count on one hand the number of A5 cards I have made, as I tend to favour square, however, for this card I have made A5 size but opening in a different way from the short edge as you can hopefully see below, and I can say that I officially love it, so A5 cards of mine will all open in this way in the future, I like it because you can really get some lovely layers of papers and pattern’s included and it doesn’t over power the image….I’ve decorated the inside of the card to match. All with my favourite glue in the world Collall All Purpose.  Seriously if you havent tried it what are you waiting for?  It’s “Totes Amaze” 🙂

The last card I made last night is a complete departure from my usual style and I have to say I am totally in love with it, I must have been channelling my inner Sheena, or it was total exhaustion that made me act out of character :).  You will be seeing a lot more of this grungy style from me because I think it has worked a treat with this image, and honestly I would never of thought I could do a grungy card successfully with the Strawberry Kisses Range but I have – I hope – let me know what you think…..

I started with a Kraft Card base 6 inch square then layered a square of orange Jillian Dot Core’dination which has been thoroughly distressed around the edges with my Tim Holtz edge distresser.  I then took a pice of paper left over from the Cuteness card, and used the reverse which is a lovely orange swirly design, and distressed those edges too.  I then tore a couple of randomly (strategically really, I can’t do random) tears in the paper and curled them around the edge of a paintbrush.  Next (it must have been the inner Sheena) I used her copper embossing powder and some versamark to gild and age the edge of the tears, finally vintage photo distress ink and cut and dry foam around all the edges and voila! a suitable grungy base for my topper 🙂

I’ve coloured Pup and Snow In the same colours as the cuteness example above and Snow in the same colours as yesterday’s post.

My final flourish is a grungy sentiment.  I have embossed the solid sentiment from the set with Sheena’s copper embossing powder and layered on a distressed Jillian Dot panel as for the base.  I just keep looking at this one, in fact it’s stood in front of me on my desk, it’s completely different to what I would usually do and I think it’s worked a treat.

Let me know what you think.  Don’t forget to check out the post below for a chance to win a goody bag and remember my shows are on tomorrow at 9am, 2pm and 6pm with these fabulous new stamps.

I’ll see you there…..

L x

Author:

Creative Development Manager in the Craft Industry, I get to make my passion my job now ...... how cool is that :)

6 thoughts on “Mistletoe MWAH! and some Cuteness…….

Leave a Reply

