Posted in Uncategorized

It’s got to be …. Puuurrrrfffeeeccctttttttttttt

Another Mulberry Wood card for you today and as Fairground Attraction said so many years  ago, it’s got to be Puuurrrrfffeeeccct for a fabulous Christmas Card 🙂

I do love my Mulberry Wood stamps, they have revitalised my flagging mojo, and got me in the crafting groove again!

I love this image and think it will make for some really pretty Christmas cards especially for cat lovers this Christmas, I can think of a couple of people I would really love to send this to.

It was soooo easy to colour.  I am going to let you have a list of all the colours I used too; just in case you want to copy 🙂

Once I’d finished colouring this topper, I sat looking at it for an age and a half because I just could not decide how to display it best, colours, papers, layout, all alluded me.  So I thought, I know! get my trusty core’dinations out that will do it, and it did I am thrilled with the finished result.  Although I do want to fit the sentiment in, but I can’t decide where to put it, so I may have have to put it inside :).

I used a lovely ice’y blue core’dination set from the Roy G Biv pad, I think they work perfectly.  I’ve embossed the base layer with my Darice snowflake embossing folder, which I love, then sanded back and tidies up with my sand it gadget and dust buddy.

I’ve lifted the base layer’s from the base card with foam pads to give some height and dimension to the card. and wrapped a piece of my “very special and only ever used on very special cards for very special people” turquoise glittery ribbon around the top.  A small piece twisted and fixed in place with Collall 3D Gel, and a little snowflake I’ve had rattling around for years in my embellishment box finishes it off nicely I think.  The glittery tree is a die Ive had for quite some time, but I can’t remember which one it is.  I’ve cut it from white card, Stick and Stay’d it then sprinkled with crystal glitter, I love the finished effect.

finally I’ve done something which is really hard for me, I almost never do it, I’ve put the coloured topper – wait for it – at a jaunty angle! GASP, my symmetrical brain does not cope well with jaunty angles, so this was a real challenge for me! 🙂

OK, so the topper has been coloured with my trusty Spectrum Noir Pens, what else!  for the kitten’s I used Warm Grey’s – BG1, BG2, BG4 and BG6, PP1 for their cheeks, and blender to smooth edges and keep centre of their faces white.  For the Xmas Tree I used DG1, DG2 and DG4, in a dotty motion to achieve texture.  The Row of Trees in the background I used CG1, CG2, CG3 and CG4 again in a dotty motion.  The Sky is IB1, IB2 and IB3, with blender swirled randomly after colouring to make it mottled and cloudy.  The star on the tree top is CT1, CT2 and CT4 as is the tinsel on the tree  and in the box with the kitten.  I have “grounded” the kittens with IG1, IG2 and IG4.  Finally a bit (ok more than a bit I got carried away) of fluffy stuff and crystal glitter all over for snow and texture.

If you missed your chance to get Mulberry Wood on the Pick of the Week shows it flew out in record time, then check out the Crafter’s Companion website, you will be able to get all things Mulberry Wood there 🙂

Have fun – I’m off to play with the next stamp on my list, I’ll be back to share the results,

Happy Crafting

Leann x

PS – for those of you who are now humming, singing or whatever, the fabulous, it’s got to be perfect, by Fairground Attraction.  I have taken the liberty of including a little treat for you here and also the essential lyrics to sing a long 🙂 – enjoy!

 

Don’t want half hearted love affairs
I need someone who really cares.
Life is too short to play silly games
I’ve promised myself I won’t do that again.

It’s got to be perfect
It’s got to be worth it
Yeah.
Too many people take second best

But I won’t take anything less
It’s got to be
Yeah
Perfect.

Young hearts are foolish
They make such mistakes
They’re much too eager to give their love away.
Well
I have been foolish too many times

Now I’m determined I’m gonna get it right.

It’s got to be perfect

Young hearts are foolish
They make such mistakes

It’s got to be perfect

It’s got to be
Yeah
Worth it
It’s got to be perfect.

Author:

Creative Development Manager in the Craft Industry, I get to make my passion my job now ...... how cool is that :)

6 thoughts on “It’s got to be …. Puuurrrrfffeeeccctttttttttttt

  1. Beautiful card Leann, love your colouring. I have ordered the pick of the week and can’t wait to start using it. Amazing how quickly it went – though not unexpected really considering the content!

    Hugs Ali x

  2. Really cute image your card is lovely. Thanks for the song worm. I saw Eddi Reader at the National Folk Festival in Canberra a few years ago. While her style is very different from the old Fairground Attraction days, she has the voice of an angel.

Leave a Reply

