Posted in Uncategorized

Sarah Kay and a Cake

Good Morning

Hope you are all well, it’s my 2nd post of the day (well evening as I am typing this Sunday Night really!) Today we went to my Niece’s 16th Birthday barbeque, You’ve already seen her Fusioned Birthday Present….

I also made her a card, I used this Sarah Kay Image as it reminds me of Sarah (my niece, yes she is called Sarah too 🙂 ), she used to wear sun hats like this all the time when she was little. The base paper is by October Afternoon and was a pressie from the lovely Claire, when she was cleaning out her craft stash for her recent move. I have been looking at it and stroking it, but today I was brave and I cut it up for Sarah’s Card 🙂

Sew easy stitching on base Mat and Sew Burst on punched border

What I really really hope you can see is the stitching around the base matt, and the little stitched sunburst on the punched border. I did these using my latest crafty purchase the We R Memory Keepers Sew Easy, and my word is it Sew Easy. You simply use one of the interchangeable heads, it works like a little roller, and colourful threads and voila you have perfectly spaced pierced designs for you to stitch through, the needle comes with the tool too. www.crafterscompanion.co.uk have the full Sew Easy range in stock, and believe me, it’s very affordable and in my opinion an absolute must have.

Ok I’ve digressed!, I wanted to create a country cottage feel to the design and think that distressing the base matt of coredination card, along with the hand stitching has achieved that for me 🙂

full card view

I also wanted to take some time to tell you about the pens I’ve used to colour in the image. I used our brand new Spectrum Noir, Alcohol Pen System, which we will have available for you very soon 🙂 – I had a bit of an epiphany when I was colouring it in, I have got loads of other alcohol pens, but always always struggle to put colours together that work well, not any more, our new pens are gong to blow your little socks off, and make choosing colours which blend an absolute breeze, and without having to take out a bank loan to get them !

Colouring with Spectrum Noir System

I’ll be back with loads more information on them, nearer the time when we will have them available for you, which shouldn’t be too long 🙂 and believe me, you too will have an epiphany, when you see how we have put them together for you :).

I love this card, and Sarah did too, hope you like it 🙂

L x

OOO almost forgot – I also made Sarah a Giant Cupcake Birthday Cake

Giant Cupcake Birthday Cake
Author:

Creative Development Manager in the Craft Industry, I get to make my passion my job now ...... how cool is that :)

12 thoughts on “Sarah Kay and a Cake

  1. Lovely card and the cup cake looks yummy!!!. I hope your niece liked her fusion box, cup cake and card. They are all so nice. Not more pens!!! Leann how can you do this to us. I’m just getting used to Aqua Markers.

    Jenny xx

  2. so I have a box full of Copics that I don’t use because I Found Pro-Markers does this mean the new ones will replace Pro-Markers OH NO!!! And Like Jenny I am still getting to grips with Aqua Markers. there’s just not enough hours in the day i must give up work……

    1. Denise, in my opinion there better, because I always struggled to get the perfect colours to blend together, well we have done that for you, which means effortless results every single time 🙂

  3. I love this card and particularly like the flowers. How did you make them, they are so gorgeous? Are they from a kit that I can get?

  4. hi leanne you card is lovely and i just love sarah kay stamps,i bought some of the new spectrum noir pens and i think they are fabulous cant wait to add to my collection.

Leave a Reply

