Posted in Uncategorized

Monthly Challange January

Morning all….

…and a Very Happy New Year – Here’s hoping that you all have a happy, healthy and prosperous 2011.

It’s that time again with another Crafter’s Companion Monthly Challenge, this month we have a fab sketch from Jacqui with the added optional theme of “New”. Pop over to the Crafter’s Companion Challenge Blog to see full details of the Challenge and to join in. Once again, because there very popular we have a £30 gift voucher for you to win.

Jacqui’s sketch is very simple, but really effective and gets the creative juices flowing.

We didn’t go out last night, I don’t really do New Year, so I had a lovely hour to myself making my card.

I thoroughly enjoyed making the background. I wanted to achieve a lovely realistic quilted patchwork effect, so I dipped in to my very favourite thing at the moment. Core’dinations card. I have used the whitewash range for this card. Really, there is nothing you cannot achieve with this card, it’s fast becoming my crafty staple, as there are so many things I can do with it. I cut 2″ squares from 3 different co-ordinating colours, Pale Blue, Pale Lemon and Pale Pink, I then run them through the cuttlebug with the swiss dots folder. I sanded the tops to get the lovely core colours to show through and give them a good wipe over with my Dust Buddy 🙂 which picks up all the dust and debris and makes the colours pop – result :). Finally I distressed the edges using my Tim Holtz distressing tool, and layered them on the front of my prepared card so they touch each other. I am hoping the finished result is like a loved handmade quilt, and I think it does 🙂 I am also really pleased that it shows, that you can use the techniques we love for distressed Grungey cards and apply them to a pretty pastel card too….. Hopefully you can see below the texture achieved on each of the panels.

Finally, Olivia, from the Patchwork Polly Collections has been coloured with co-ordinating colours of copic, so she matches the background, and with her little balloon in her hand I think she is really sweet.

Hope you are inspired to have a go at this background technique yourselves, and if you do, please let us see your creations, and don’t forget to join us at the Crafter’s Companion Monthly Challenge

Ta Ta for now

L x

Author:

Creative Development Manager in the Craft Industry, I get to make my passion my job now ...... how cool is that :)

4 thoughts on “Monthly Challange January

  1. Happy New Year to you to Leann, Haven’t tried the core’dinations yet, but will have a look at them soon.
    huge hugs
    Ida from Bishop…lol

Leave a Reply

