Posted in Uncategorized

BAH Humbug!

Well not really!

I love Christmas, I love everything about it. I can’t wait to head off to chopwell woods to pick my tree, and then spend a very happy afternoon decorating it, with xmas music playing in the background, and then sitting to watch the xfactor with only the xmas tree lights on ….. I know sad, very sad, but I love it. I’ve already made my Christmas Pudding and cake, they’re being fed with Rum on a daily basis ;). I’ve got shopping lists all sorted, I’ve issued my invites to xmas dinner, and got my acceptance’s in πŸ™‚ and I am now waking the family up on a morning with Christmas Music (well now that’s what I call Xmas anyway!) and Porridge, it’s a tradition in the Chiver’s family household. Another tick of my list last night was my Christmas Card Design’s. I don’t know why but it takes me a good long time to decide, and by george I cracked it last night, so here we go – I keep looking at it and think shall I just add a bit of ……………., but then I give myself a good talking too and instruct myself to step away from the card!

Snow Flurries (in teal)

It’s using my two newest favourist things, with one of my favourist stamp’s of the year (even though it’s only a little’un). So here we go, a white 6″ x 6″ card, with a panel of white card which has been embossed using the Tim Holtz Snow Flurries Embossing Folder. This has been matted onto a piece of teal cordinations card. The bottom edge of the card has been die cut with the Tim Holtz Snow Flurries, On The Edge, Alterations Die, and had a piece of co-ordinating teal card, stuck behind so the card stands up, I think the colour also adds to the design……. Finally I have stamped the small village scene, from Sheena D’s Bah Humbug 2 stamp plate, with Broken China Distress Ink, Dragged the colour out a bit with a damp brush and spot glittered the snow and the roof’s with glamour dust. I’ve then cut it out with Spellbinders Labels 4 die, embossed it, and then before removing from the die used a piece of cut and dry to create the sky and edge the image. I’ve then cut out the next size up, og labels four from the matching teal colour coredinations card (honestly this card is amazing for absolutely everything in your crafting and you will never not be able to find the perfect colour!) The completed image has been stuck to the centre of the embossed panel with foam tape to raise it a little.

Voila Christmas Card No. 1 sorted. The 2nd design I am going to use this year is one I made for my Sneak peeks of Jayne N’s range, It’s my absolute favourite card I’ve made all year! and it’s this one, that image of the little boy cuddling his sister melts my heart πŸ™‚

Caring

And finally! I thought I’d show you some pic’s of my eventful trip to the post office yesterday! This was the road through the village at about 10.15am, it kept snowing all day, and by the time early evening came, it was like a scene from the Lord of the Rings, all we needed was Gandalf, banging his staff on the ground shouting “You shall not pass”.

main route through village!

This is the playing field at the bottom of my estate, it’s a white out, and the snow is still falling heavily.

Playing field - Where?

And this is Rosie, seriously un-impressed with being taken out when it’s snowing, she has an aversion to rain! and snow is just frozen rain πŸ™‚ she loves to run around like a puppy and play in the snow, but she doesn’t like it when it snows down on her and in her face!

Rosie, not happy! she is being snowed on!

I went head over heels twice, on my trip there and back! a journey that usually takes 10 minutes there and 10 minutes back took me 1 hour and 10 minutes for the round trip, the walking was so bad. I was seriously wet and cold when I got home. I did it for you crafters! I had to post stuff to the TV station for our POTD on Thursday night πŸ˜‰ Did I mention we are doing a Pick of the Day this week, well we are, and you need to tune in, there are some things your gonna NEED NEED NEED πŸ™‚ – I won’t be there to wave, but Sara will and she has some amazing demo’s to show you.

Ok I have definitely waffled enough tonight (I know I’m scarring you with the weird time warp thing) but this post is scheduled to self destruct, nope not self destruct, self post tomorrow at 10:30am

Ta ta for now

L x

Author:

Creative Development Manager in the Craft Industry, I get to make my passion my job now ...... how cool is that :)

9 thoughts on “BAH Humbug!

  1. Love the card Leann. Don’t know where your village is, but I live on the Sunderland side of Durham,& its HORRENDOUS! I’d been stuck in the house a week until Hubby & I made a trip to Tesco yesterday. OMG, it was awful. People were parking anywhere, & security said they couldn’t do anything, as it was due to the weather! So snow makes people stupid???

  2. I love the cards Leann – good old Sheena, her stamp plates are brilliant they make making great cards a piece of cake. You have loads of snow. I live in Oxfordshire and we hardly have any snow at all. We are all definately all at work and school. Hope you have a lovely Christmas, you are obviously well into Christmas mode already!

  3. Gorgeous card and lovely pictures Leann. We too are snowed in – not been out for a week now not even to the post office lol. Enjoy the run up to Christmas and the event itself xx

  4. I’m so glad i’m not the only one that turns into a christmas loony! the tree is going up on Saturday! already chosen a theme for it, peacock colours, teal through to pinks and purples so looking forward to seeing that up! The snow here is totally mad and so thick! taken tons of pickies too!
    Have missed you too 😦 Glad your keeping busy and love love love the cards! I love teal at the moment, its such a lovely colour.
    You take care and wrap up warm and speak to you soon
    Nicki
    xXx

  5. Oh these are just beautiful cards, and like you I just adore these stamps.
    Loving the colour ways you have used, such pretty cards. See all that hard work paid off!
    As for the snow … you can keep it up there with you πŸ˜‰

  6. Ahh Leann – I love it.
    Thanks so much for using one of my images to create such a lovely card:-)
    I’m just at the re-arranging the living room stage ready for the tree, but I’m already uber excited! I’m actually toying with the idea of a real tree this year from Chopwell myself – does yours last long after Xmas day?
    x

    1. Oh yes we keep it for the twelve days of xmas πŸ˜‰ so we put it uip about two weeks before the big day and then take it down on the 5th january πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

