Posted in Uncategorized

Crafter’s Companion Monthly Challenge

Morning all

Hope your all enjoying the snow! we have had another 2 inches overnight! all together now, I’ dreaming of a whiteeeeeeee Christmasssssss ……………… more of that at the end of the post 😉

Crafter’s Companion Monthly challenge starts today, and as a special Christmas treat there is a £50 Craft Voucher up for grabs, I know I know, isn’t that fabulous be sure to tell all your crafty friends and get them to join in.

We have another fabby sketch for you this month with the additional/optional theme of, you guessed it, Christmas 🙂 so you can enter with the sketch, or just the theme, or both.

December 2010 Monthly Challenge Sketch

OK I am sure most of you will know that it was craftaganza last week, and what a fabulous time was had by all, I loved meeting each and every one of you, it’s so great to get up close and personal, and have a good old chat. Anyhoo, I got to be a helper in one of Sheena’s classes and the card everyone made was soooo beautiful, I was inspired to have a little go with the stamp myself, so here it is, a lovely Christmassy Wintery Scene from the Bah Humbug Plate – You can see Sheena demonstrating making the card from craftaganza by following this link.

I decided to mix it up a bit, as I have my new snow flurries, embossing folder and alterations die by Tim Holtz, you can get them here, and I just love them, in truth it’s the first snowflake embossing folder that I have truly loved. It’s just enough, in my opinion. Also one of my new favourite things is the on the edge dies. Ive used the snowflake one here, and I am going to use it on all of my Xmas cards this year! and I blooming love it, it’s fab fab fab…… I’ve used the embossing folder and the on the edge die, on coredinations card, when you use the all in the family pack, colour matching is so so easy :), then sanded for a lovely distressy effect, Stamped the street scene with Chipped Sapphire Distress Ink onto Watercolour Card, blended out with water for definition, a cut and dry foam sky, and a spritz of iridescent spray and sparkle for a wintery glisten!

The edges of all the matt’s and layers have been distressed with my new purchase, a Tim Holtz edge distressing tool thingy! and let me tell you, you need one, so much easier than scissors or your thumb nail! Finally I turned one of the layers of the sketch around (can you guess which one?) because if I left it, my lovely snowflake border would have been hidden, and I wanted the whole thing on display 🙂

Bah Humbug

Good grief I have waffled a bit today…., maybe it’s blog withdrawal symptoms! hope you like the card 🙂

Lx

Ps – Don’t forget to head over to the Challenge Blog and join in this month, who can turn their nose up at the change of a £50 crafty voucher, I can’t, but then I can’t enter either! Booo Hoooo Hoooooo.

Pps – I did promise, well sort of, at the beginning of the post to let you have the lyrics to White Xmas, so here we, all together now ………

I’m dreaming of a white christmas,
just like the ones I used to know
Where the treetops glisten and children listen
to hear sleigh bells in the snow

I’m dreaming of a white christmas,
just like the ones I used to know
Where the treetops glisten and children listen
to hear sleigh bells in the snow

I’m dreaming of a white christmas,
with every christmas card I write
May your days be merry and bright,
and may all your christmases be white

I’m dreaming of a white christmas,
just like the ones I used to know
May your days be merry and bright,
and may all your christmases be white

I’m dreaming of a white christmas,
with every christmas card I write
May your days be merry and bright,
and may all your christmases be white

May your days be merry and bright,
and may all your christmases be white

And may all your christmases be white (All your christmases be white)
And may all your christmases be white (All your christmases be white)
And may all your christmases be
(All your christmases be white)
(All your christmases be white)

Author:

Creative Development Manager in the Craft Industry, I get to make my passion my job now ...... how cool is that :)

Leave a Reply

