Posted in Crafters Companion, General Cards, General Chit Chat and Ramblings, techniques

Summer is here, ahhhhhhhh let the bright cards begin …….

…….ahhhhhh summer is here, what a lovely scorchio weekend we had. Spent a really lovely day at Raby Castle with hubby, had a picnic, walked in the gardens, mooched around the castle…… then had a lovely play with my newest acquisition – Citrus Stack, Die Cuts with a View Paper Pad. And Oh my goodness how much do I just love this pad of paper, it’s wonderful…. The colours are stunning for summer, but actually why just summer, they’re zingy enough to bring a smile to the lips at any time fo the year. I am loving dark card bases and white for matting and layering lately, I don’t know why, but its working for me anyway! I’ve inked around the edges of the patterned paper with Broken China Distress Ink. I also had a go at the latest craze of making paper blooms…. what fun I had, this blue one on the card was made from the same citrus stack of paper so the colours match in very easily indeed. I have decided that I need to photograph you a step by step for making these flowers, and I will try to do so either tonight or tomorrow, their much easier than they look 🙂 – In fact I owe you several step by steps I fear, but this will be the first one, as these homemade embellishments are just perfect for lovely summery cards, I am also imagining them in creams for wedding cards. Perfect!.

I’ve included a photograph of my first practice bloom too, which I made with the latte stack again from DCWV, (honestly – it’s a sin to call it a paper stack because actually it’s more like card. It’s a really good weight and can easily be used for card bases too.) I’ve inked this one with vintage photo, my hubby was most impressed, which in itself is no mean feat! he thinks it looks like wood, what do you think? I am going to plan a lovely muted/distressed card to show it at its perfect flowery little best 🙂

I would recommend you go for the 12 x 12 pad as for the difference in price from the 8 x 8, you can get so much more versatility. Cut the sheet in half to fold 6 x 6 card blanks, (the quality really is good enough to do this.) keep the 2nd half for matting and layering of another card, or to make your paper flowers…. loads and loads of value a large proportion of the sheets in the citrus stack are glittered too…. Oh, OK I’ve waffled enough can you tell how much I love them? Check them out here honestly you wont be disappointed, and the cards you will be able to make are just stunning………….you will be very impressed with their absolute lovelyness, is that a word?

Have a lovely day wherever you are and whatever you’re doing

Lx

Ooooo yes – If your budget does not stretch to the 12 x 12 or 8 x 8 pads do what I do – CHEAT! there are some lovely DCWV pre-folded card packs you get 40 cards in a pack (10 designs, 4 of each) and their double-sided. I chop em in half use them for matting and layering, stunning! and I have 40 good quality 4″ x 6″ envelopes to use too 🙂 SORTED! …..

Author:

Creative Development Manager in the Craft Industry, I get to make my passion my job now ...... how cool is that :)

6 thoughts on “Summer is here, ahhhhhhhh let the bright cards begin …….

  1. Ohhhhh Hun they are fab must have a tutorial on these (would be a good one for CC NV&I). That pad is mouthwatering, I am off to play with mine now
    Have a good week
    Hugs
    Jacqui xx

Leave a Reply

