My first attempt at quilting ….

24 Feb

Morning all

So I’ve procrastinated long enough …. I attended a beginners ribbon ring class at my local quilting store, The Quilters Cupboard in Durham (which by the way if you are local is owned by one of the nicest and funniest people I have ever met, Rita Walker, there are rooms full of fabric floor to ceiling!) I had a fab day with my mam learning how to make a ribbon ring …. And promptly bought the fabric to make another 3 and into a lap quilt! I’ve been so scared to go it alone that it’s sat very forlornly at the bottom of my UFO box for months …. This weekend I plucked up the courage and started cutting :) you can see my progress thus far and thankfully nothing has gone wrong yet !

20140224-083225.jpg

20140224-083252.jpg

I am hoping to have it all finished next weekend ready to pop in the caravan for our first trip of 2014, when it may be a little chilly on a night :) I think this quilting malarkey could become addictive!

Happy Monday everyone

Crafty love

Leann x

14 Responses to “My first attempt at quilting ….”

  1. sue February 24, 2014 at 8:54 am #

    you appear to be confident in all that you do so i am sure your quilt will be beautiful, when you have finished it i hope you will post a picture.

    hugs

    sue x

  2. Paula Perry February 24, 2014 at 8:54 am #

    It is very addictive, problem is finding th time to fit all these crafts in along with everything else. h well house work comes last again. Have fun Leann, xx

  3. Maria Morphopoulos February 24, 2014 at 9:54 am #

    Well done, Leann! It takes some patience. I am getting started myself on a “sort of a patchwork” cushion cover. Keep going. Good luck.

  4. jean February 24, 2014 at 10:38 am #

    I love your choice of colours and very neat stitching, please post your progress and the finished quilt. I have quite a few ufo’s myself that I have promised to complete this year…..maybe a bit ambitious lol

  5. kraftyjuliej February 24, 2014 at 11:03 am #

    Wow Leann it’s gorgeous love the design and fabric, I’m sure you will get it finished.
    Hugs Julie xxx

  6. Tracy Freeman February 24, 2014 at 11:28 am #

    Well done Leann, it is something I have always wanted to try, my nan was a quilter and I don’t think anything beats a handmade quilt.
    Look forward to seeing this when it is done.

  7. Kay February 24, 2014 at 12:22 pm #

    I love the colours and have fun.XX

  8. Net Clough February 24, 2014 at 12:36 pm #

    Ooh you’re on a slippery slope! Have you done any ‘unsewing’ yet?

  9. Monica Knight. February 24, 2014 at 1:01 pm #

    Well done Leann.

  10. Theresa Clarke February 24, 2014 at 3:25 pm #

    Looking great, I have just started quilting too. My first love was dressmaking, but have gone on to do lots of other crafts, but I am just so loving the quilting at the moment.

  11. Sally Spragg February 24, 2014 at 4:05 pm #

    I really like that pattern you are using and the colours are fantastic. I am helping a few people learn to quilt and they all have quilt fever. They are loving every minute!!! Am looking forward to seeing more of your patchwork !

  12. Anne Hill February 24, 2014 at 6:12 pm #

    Well done Leann you put me to shame although I have tided my fabric cupboard and put it all back neatly its the cutting into the fabric that’s the hardest bit???? I know how ridiculous after buying it all! I cant wait to see the finished throw x’s Anne

  13. am2406 February 24, 2014 at 8:29 pm #

    It is addictive and so satisfying when done. Well done love the fabric colours too

  14. Lesley February 24, 2014 at 8:44 pm #

    Oh dear Leann. Be prepared to have this hobby take over your life and your home. It is a very addictive hobby but a very beautiful one. You will meet some amazing people in the quilt world who are more than willing to give you advice and help develop your skills. I love to patch although find the actual quilting quite demanding. You look like you are off to a great start. The colours and paternity is lovely.
    Lesley

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,577 other followers

