Have a HOOT at Christmas

Me again, with another Mulberry wood creation!

This time I’ve looked at how to create a lovely night sky for the owls, using my faithful Spectrum Noir Pens of course!  The very talented Lis Murphy has a done a similar effect over on the Spectrum Noir Blog, check it out.

I’m going to try a new technique of step by steps for you and put the text under the photo so you don’t gave to scroll for 3 miles to see the tutorial! – let’s see if it works 🙂

Each image should have information under for each step.  If you want to see it bigger click on the image – Ouh it’s exciting!

OK, so once the topper is coloured, I’ve die-cut and layered it up.  I wanted to keep the night feel going so I’ve used some old grey coloured papers I had lying around, and matted them onto the Old Rose from our Core’dination’s Dark’s pack.

The Circle layers, have been cut on my eCraft, even the sentiment and its matt, I love it, because I can cut perfect matts and layers in unusual shapes, with perfect ease.

A tiny bit of my special grey velvet ribbon and lace trim adds a touch of class to the corner of the topper.

The front of the card, all f inished.

As you no doubt know by now.  I like to decorate inside my card’s.  I really do think it changes your project from an ordinary card, to a really special one, and if you are selling them, you will be able to sell them for more!

So, using Old Rose again and matching grey papers, this time with a star pattern to match the shooting star theme.  I’ve matted and layered the inside of the card.  the circle, for writing your greeting, as again been cut using the eCraft.  A bit of ribbon add’s finishing touch.

Inside the card

I think this is a perfect masculine Christmas Card.  Hope you enjoyed the tutorial.

See you soon

Lx

14 responses to “Have a HOOT at Christmas”

  1. Nichole McMeeking

    Love this card, mulberry wood and full set of pens on the way so can’t wait to try this out x

  2. i received my cd rom and stamps yesterday and the owls are going to be the first one i colour in. I hope i can colour it in even half as good as you. Such a beautiful card

  3. Nichole McMeeking

    Love it!

  4. Ohhhh Leann this it totally fabulous!!!!!!!!! Love those little owls to bits!! Your step by step guide is just the best, thank you so much for taking the time in doing this, will definately be giving it a go!! Mwah!!!!
    Debbie x

  5. Leann, this is beautiful, simply beautiful! Thank you for sharing! xxxx

  6. Great card. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Those owls are too cute!! Absolutely adorable!!!

  8. cute card! TFS!

  9. Lovely card!

  10. Honestly, that is probably THE MOST THOROUGH tutorial I’ve ever seen!!! AWESOME project!!! 🙂

  11. Lovely card Leann, you are a very clever colourer in-er! Thanks for the great ideas!

  12. Awe, what a cute, sweet card….so precious! I love it!

  13. BRILLIANT! You did a freaking amazing job… wonderful post!

  14. Wow Leanne, this card is just adorable and I love your tutorial on how you did the sky! I’ve never tried these pens, but you really inspire me to give it a try!

Leave a comment